top of page
Search

Mentor Acquired

This Wednesday (the 6th of Feb.), I finally met up with my mentor, Mike Cocchiola, a behavior Analysis and Education consultant for a school district here in Connecticut. We talked for an hour about my work so far, and the importance of breaking boundaries with the taboo topics I am addressing with Growing Together.


The first thing we talked about was Erikson's Stages of Human Development, and how that is a big influence in my writing. He gave me many references for more research purposes and directed me to many journals to help me learn the developmental learning curve, when it is influenced by hardships at such a young age.


We also looked through my final version of the draft, and he gave me very insightful feedback on character development, the common themes I was trying to address, as well as any changes I could make to enhance positive feedback. One thing we really focused on was displaying the arrange of emotions that the characters were evoking, as well as the emotions we wanted the readers to feel.


Already, Mr. Cocchiola has helped me plan my high school leveled book, helping me decide how to split chapters, how to organize the book and specific themes, aswell as how to overall write to this audience. He also made a good point on who to survey and make an outreach too. Mr. Cocchiola said to focus on Region15 students, as I would find people dealing with hardships, but are hidden within everyone else -- just like myself.


In the next two weeks I will be collecting survey data from Juniors and Seniors at Pomperaug High School about their "relationship" with hardships, if they have any at all.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Time Fly's When You a Have Capstone Project Due!

There are two days until projects are due to judges and I could not be any more excited and stressed at the same time! I am finishing up writing "The Writing Process" that will be posted to my launchp

Home is Where the Heart is RELEASED!!!

Today, I released my book Home is Where the Heart is to the Region15 community! I was super nervous, but super excited to share my elementary book with everyone; and the feedback was AMAZING! Parents

Adjustments, Adjustments, and... More Adjustments

Over the last few weeks I have been trying to adapt to COVID-19, and I have finally made progress in order to work with what I have. After a brief Google Hangout meeting with my teacher, I have a bett

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page